See All Tutorials

Administrator

1.7 User and Group Manager – Adding a New Approver

ExpensePoint allows companies to create unlimited approval workflows determined by different criteria.  Approval criteria include supervisors, managers, categories, GL codes, expense or report values, and can include multiple approval levels.

When creating approvals, you will be working in the User and Group Manager and Workflow Manager.   User and Group Manager groups the users together and  Workflow Manager defines the criteria, or conditions, and assigns the approver.

In this example, we will be creating a single approver Manager workflow.

User and Group Manager – Assigning Permissions to Users

Assigning permissions at a group level allows you to set permissions to a larger group of people quickly.  It is best practice to create permissions by groups rather than within the user’s account.

User and Group Manager – Restore Deleted User

ExpensePoint has the ability to restore a user that has been deleted. The benefits of restoring the user, rather than adding them as a new user, is their history and some user-specific information within their profile are restored.

Settings Manager – Billable Sources

The Billable Sources option in ExpensePoint allows you to split off a billable amount of an expense to a third party.

User Group Manager – Adding Users

The ExpensePoint User and Group Manager maintains user settings and defaults.  It has two areas: User Groups and Users.

User Groups: This is where we assign users to approval, permission, or category-specific groups.   Assigning users into groups provides an easier setup for user profiles.  Furthermore, it allows an administrator to understand a user’s access in ExpensePoint.

Users: This manages a user’s profile information, such as an address, defaults, permissions, approval groups, etc.  This example will add a new user and highlight all the fields within the user’s profile.  Note: When setting up a new user, the best practice is to review another user’s profile to understand your company-specific defaults.

User and Group Manager – Delete a User

When removing terminated employees from ExpensePoint, it is important to delete the user profile.  All of the historical data will be available in Expense Manager and Analysis Manager.  This will then free up a license so you can add a new user.

Policy Manager

The Policy Manager allows you to create conditions to advise users, approvers, and accounting that an expense is out of policy. Conditions can be based on the following criteria: expense author, category, cost per day, currency, age of expense, exchange rate, GL code, project number, payment type, total number of days, and vendor.  It is common to have multiple conditions within a policy.   We recommend that you set up policies to highlight exceptions to your company’s travel policy rules.

Here is an example of how to create a simple hotel policy.  In this case, we have based this policy on a travel allowance of $175 per night.

Settings Manager – Security & Privacy

ExpensePoint values your company and employee security and privacy.  The system provides robust options for additional security controls.

Settings Manager – Advanced Settings

Advanced Settings are system settings that further customize the operation of your company’s account. Certain features and options can be enabled or disabled as required.

Settings Manager – Report Fields

Report fields allow companies to add and capture additional information in a report. Report fields are commonly used for trip start and end dates or for adding a custom text field.  This enables you to capture the required information for your expense report.

Settings Manager – Adding a User-Defined Field

User-Defined Fields track specific user information such as credit card mapping numbers or employee/vendor numbers. Administrators can use these identifiers in an export file or Analysis Manager reports. These fields are added in the Settings Manager. However, to associate these with a user, you will do this in the User and Group Manager and select the user defaults tab on the individual user profile.